Dunaj Vltava

European region Danube-Vltava (ERDV)

3 countries, 2 languages, 1 common region

Economic, social and community development in Bavaria, Bohemia and in Austria has not been defined by boundary lines for many years. During this time, the border regions have become closer and work on joint projects, such as the economy, tourism, culture, social sphere and education. For participating municipalities and regions it has been beneficial to cooperate with their neighbours, even though their home is in another country. Over the years, networks transcending borders and increasing the attractiveness of the regions have been established. Many projects which have recently been jointly implemented prove there is a strong interest for cooperation with neighbouring regions.

Plans and projects can be processed even more effectively and in closer concordance within the European region. Therefore, 7 regions in the borderlands of three countries – the Czech Republic, Germany and Austria – established the "European region Danube-Vltava on 30 June 2012". 

The European region Danube-Vltava is a trilateral union which was established on a political level in the form of a working community, and which incorporates seven partner regions:

  • Upper Austria
  • Lower Austria (regions of Mostviertel and Waldviertel)
  • Lower Bavaria with Altötting
  • Upper Palatinate
  • Pilsen Region
  • South Bohemian Region
  • Vysočina Region 

6 million inhabitants on an area of 60,000 km²
3 countries, 2 languages, 1 common region

The goal of the region is the development of cooperation for the good of the population living in this area, strengthening the region in the competition with other agglomerations and the implementation of the European idea. The establishment of the European region Danube-Vltava started the operational activities of this community, which is devoted to cooperation and further development of the partner regions in the 7 following prospective areas:

  • Research and innovation
  • Cooperation of universities
  • Cooperation of enterprises and the creation of clusters
  • Qualified workforce and labour market
  • Tourism oriented towards nature, health, cities and culture
  • Renewable energy and energy efficiency
  • Mobility, accessibility and transport

A so-called knowledge platform has been established for each prospective area, which is represented by experts of all seven regions. Their task is to devise and plan specific measures within the ERDV strategy and support projects from a professional viewpoint through their knowledge and contacts. Each ERDV region is responsible for the functioning and work of one knowledge platform.


The partner regions want to shape the European region Danube-Vltava through their trilateral cooperation as:

  • a region where people have a future
  • an attractive living and economic space between metropolitan regions/ agglomerations
  • a strong partner for European politics
  • a learning and dynamic region

All partners also want to:

  • jointly develop and build the future of ERDV
  • jointly preserve and strengthen intact living space, natural and cultural areas
  • develop research and educational opportunities in cooperation between universities and schools
  • create interesting job positions in cooperation between enterprises
  • support competitive enterprises in cooperation between politics and administration